Cultural Walking Tour Quetzaltenango

We walking tour of the historic center of Xela. The tour lasts approximately 3 hours, and visited the central park , and surrounding buildings , the cathedral, the city hall, the municipal theater , the cemetery and other major parks, buildings and museums in the city Altens .


Parrish Xela

The church, in its creation in 1532, was 250 feet long and spacious, elevated by a wide decorated and adorned with paintings and sculptures. He expected to be visited by a multitude of enslaved Indians, so that could be evangelized. Inside the church it was located to the west the image of the Virgen del Rosario, patron saint of the town. Over time the building began to deteriorate, and being a common and universal public utility repair work begins, especially after the earthquakes of 1765. For the year 1853 another earthquake struck the city, thus suffering considerable damage the temple . As a result, in 1898 the demolition of the colonial church agreed to make way for a new Altens cathedral. The cathedral was damaged by another earthquake in 1902, was restored and is still the old facade of the church next to the new entrance, giving the impression of two churches (Church of the Holy Spirit in Quetzaltenango)

Temple of Minerva

In the government of Estrada Cabrera the mineralizas celebrations were held to reward students and children to worship the goddess Minerva sabudiría, although there were also celebrations in honor of the ruler. For the holidays Greco-Roman style temples were built in honor of Minerva, in different departments. Some were more luxurious than others. The city of Guatemala, for example, was marble and wood worked. Currently there are few remains of these works due to the poor quality of its creation and to not withstand earthquakes or the passage of time. One of the few temples that are still standing is that of Quetzaltenango, located in the northwest of the city center. This temple was not completed and therefore the structure of the roof and cornice were conducted in 1970 with no corresponding to its original creation materials.

Monument of the Marimba

Marimba Monument is a monument at the entrance to the municipal seat of Quetzaltenango , which welcomes people entering the city. It is the work of artist Quetzalteco Rodolfo Galeotti Torres , who was inspired by the authors of the music of the marimba and marimba itself . It was carved in the 1970s .


Municipal Theatre

Its construction lasted four years and ended in 1895, work of Enrique H. Jones and Lorenzo Durini. The planes are of the architect Luis de Rigaul. The building is considered by cultural Cathedral town of Quetzaltenango. Its capacity is for 1050 people in three different sections: lunette, high stage and amphitheater. The Municipal Theater of Quetzaltenango begun in September 1891, during the presidency of Manuel Lisandro Barillas, and was completed in July 1895, during the period of José María Reina Barrios. It was made with municipal funds, the government of Guatemala and also with private contributions. The building has an eclectic architecture from the late nineteenth century and early twentieth century. The first facade corresponded to the French Renaissance style. Later he joined the second main facade, in a neoclassical style, made up by a portico formed by a group of Ionic columns supporting the entablature. The earthquake of April 18, 1902 damaged the building of the Municipal Theatre, just seven years after its inauguration. The repair took four years and had reopened a rebuilt lobby and a new neo-classical pediment.

House Western Culture

It is a center of cultural, specifically against its central square . It was officially opened on December 15, 1960 , by determination of Alberto Fuentes father of Alberto Fuentes Mohr . The place was an old prison , which functioned as a prison since its original construction in 1872 until after the government of Carlos Castillo Armas , later to become a model cultural center , opened in 1960. The original plans are Julian Rivera and construction was by Francisco Sánchez Latour. On site there is a newspaper library that protects editions of newspapers since 1930, plus a library . In the main entrance is a gallery in which stands the official anthem of Quetzaltenango , Moon Xelajú . Among the functions of the House of Culture of the West it is to rescue museums of biology, archeology, history, sports and marimba , while highlighting individuals who excel in these branches .

Passage Enriquez

The building was originally the headquarters of Arms, seat of the Chief Political approximately in 1840. According to a report of 1899 session of the Municipal Council of that time the architect Alberto Porta is authorized for the reconstruction of the building , completed in 1902 . The building has been characterized for commercial purposes , including the interior, which is around the covered patio with metal frame and glass plates


Information


Included